Happiness is….

“Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in harmony.”  Mahatma Gandhi

Someone sent this to me today and I really liked it.  I can really relate to this saying.  It seems that sometimes I am a split personality.  I say one thing and really think another.  For instance, when asked: Q: “Were you going to eat that last piece of pie”?   A: “No” I lie.  Q: “Do you want to sign up for this committee and help with [insert committee/charity name here]”.  A: “Sure”.  I mean, why not.  I only have five bazillion other things I do and charities to support.  Sometimes its a wonder I ever get ANYTHING accomplished!  😀  I really wanted to say exactly how I felt, but it seems that the times I did express my true opinion, something went sour and I always felt like sticking my foot in my mouth.  Although, if you know me, you would say that I am not a door mat and I do have a definite opinion and way of doing things, but it seems like when I open my mouth, what I really want to say, just doesn’t come out right!

Although, this past year has really taught me many valuable things.  Even though most say 2008 was a really bad year, I have to chalk it up to one of the best years of my life.  I learned how to say “No”., mean it and walk away without feeling guilty.  Last year I focused on quality and not quantity and I do believe it has improved my life spiritually and emotionally.  It has also improved quality of life for my family.  Instead of me running around like a chicken with her head cut off, I stayed home, enjoyed my family, enjoyed my church and chose a handful of activities and organizations to be involved in.  And, you know what?  Everything got done anyway.  It did not all hinge upon whether or not I could sign up for ONE more thing.  So, I am off to a good start this year!  I am looking forward to 2009. 

Andrea

Leave a Reply

