Grand Finale

I thought I was finished working on projects for the weekend, thus my last post, touting all of my accomplishments for the weekend, was a little premature.  After coming home from church this afternoon, I decided that I was bored and wanted to work on another project.  You see, I had this little quart of red paint staring at me, sending me little messages saying he wanted to be used on my ugly swing out front.  Who can resist subliminal messages from a red paint can?  I can’t!  I love little shots of red throughout the house and, in this case, the porch.

So, without further persuasion, I managed to get my husband and daughter into the act and we sanded, cleaned, painted and painted and painted (its red remember, you have to put about 3-4 coats of red paint in order to get the correct color desired) and painted.  Then my husband rehung the swing in a different spot on the porch.  We have been saying for 2 1/2 years that we would like it in another spot — out of the sun in the later afternoon and evening. 

Before...

Before...

...After

...After

In its new spot (ignore the peeling porch paint :-)

In its new spot (ignore the peeling porch paint 🙂

While we were at it, we took down the porch lights, cleaned the 40 plus years of bugs and grime out and off of them and rehung them.  We also changed out the lightbulbs (I know this is exciting news, huh?  I am sure watching paint dry on my swing would be more exciting) with CFLs.  I do have to say, coming home tonight from church, our porch was lit up like Christmas! 

Sometime around Wednesday, I am going to try out my new belt sander on the porch rails, along with my new dremel bits on the spindles.  I am hoping to be able to prep them so I can prime and paint them next week.  I have a carpenter coming this week also to give me an estimate on repairing two column  bases and making some correct sized tongue and groove porch flooring.  If his estimate is not too high, we will have him rock on with fixing the porch.  Then, later this Spring, or early Summer, I will sand and paint the porch!!!!!!!!!  YAY!!!!!!!!!  That will be a Snoopy happy dance day!

I hope everyone had a great weekend!

Andrea

2 thoughts on “Grand Finale

Leave a Reply

