APOLLO

Gyro Salad with Apollo Dressing, side of Grecian Dip...good stuff!

I love mediterranean/mid eastern food.  Apollo is out of this world!  You definitely have to like and understand the culture in order to eat there.  I love their salads…the Gyro salad with the Apollo dressing is the best.  The chicken schwarma is an awesome choice too!

Apollo Greek and Lebanese Cafe

(318) 448-0455

3425 Jackson St
Alexandria, LA 71301

If you love gyros and Greek food, you definitely have to give this place some of your business.  I plan on trying my best to eat there as often as possible.  We need more places like this.  I am tired of the run of the mill chains.  Let’s keep these people in business!

I read a lot of ignorant things said in reviews about this restaurant most of it had to do with the culture or the ethnicity of the owners and NOT anything to do with the food.  This makes no sense to me at all.  The owners are very kind and I have had great service, with the exception of one blonde, very rude waitress who could not even pronounce gyro (yee-roh…yee-roh say it with me people yee-roh) correctly and then she proceeded to tell me that what I was ordering was not really what I wanted.  That’s interesting…I had ordered it several times before, I am so glad she can read my mind.  However, the owner came out and saw what was going on and recognized me and quickly took my order.  Unfortunately, you will run in to people like that anywhere.  So, I have no complaints.  The food is awesome!

As far as listening to the different music and the TV being tuned in to a middle eastern channel….uh…you are at a middleastern restaurant.  Do I really need to say more?  Enjoy your experience and enjoy the good food.  

The next thing we can work on is getting Whole Foods to open up a store….now wouldn’t that be something?

Andrea

PS:   Some interesting facts:

1. Our numeral system (0, 1, 2, 3, etc.) are Arabic numerals.  This numbering system we use today, originally developed in India, was taught to Europeans and in the Americas by Arabs from North Africa.  Thus, the name Arab numerals.

2. Lebanon is called the “Paris of the Middle East”.  Lebanon was under French Mandate until their independence in 1943.  The official language is Arabic and French.  It is bordered by Israel to the South and Syria to the North and East. It is a very popular tourist area due to its mountains and beaches.

3. Beirut is the largest city and capitol of Lebanon with a population of 1-2 million people.  Beirut is named one of the ten most livelist cities in the world.

Leave a comment