Florida Governor Signs Welfare Measure

So, I might be a little bit behind in the news, but I sure was glad to read this article!

Reposted from CNN:

Saying it is “unfair for Florida taxpayers to subsidize drug addiction,” Gov. Rick Scott on Tuesday signed legislation requiring adults applying for welfare assistance to undergo drug screening.

“It’s the right thing for taxpayers,” Scott said after signing the measure. “It’s the right thing for citizens of this state that need public assistance. We don’t want to waste tax dollars. And also, we want to give people an incentive to not use drugs.”

Wow…this is great news!  Any adults applying for welfare will have to undergo drug screening.  Florida Governor, Rick Scott, defends the measure by saying first of all he does not want to waste tax payers’ dollars and secondly “…we want to give people an incentive to not use drugs.”   Well done Florida!  Well done.  Hopefully other states will follow.  If we could pass a law that required persons applying for housing and Section 8 to undergo drug testing too…well then…we might live in a perfect world then. 😉

I particularly liked how he phrased his defense, that it would give drug users an “incentive to not use drugs”.  That is smooth….

Andrea

3 thoughts on “Florida Governor Signs Welfare Measure

  1. Matthew 25:34-46. The new GOP translation cast into outer darkness those trapped in an endless cycle of poverty and addiction, poverty often created and pepetuated by the citadels of power.

  2. There is a fine line between helping and enabling. By handing out welfare and free housing to people who have no intention of stopping their abuse of drugs, is enabling. I think this is a good incentive for persons who do receive welfare and are on drugs, to stop abusing drugs. Many times they are unproductive citizens because of their drug abuse. I don’t think anyone is “trapped” in poverty. One just needs to travel to another country to realize that we are so blessed here in America and have AMPLE opportunities. God has given us the power to break the chains of addiction and things that have us bound. He gives us strength and there is nothing too hard for Him (Philippians 4:13; John 16:33; John 10:10).

    10The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly. John 10:10.

    Poverty is no excuse for drug abuse. So, we expect a lower standard of behavior or accountability from the impoverished? I believe that the Bible says that God shows partiality to no man. “6 But from those who seemed to be something—whatever they were, it makes no difference to me; God shows personal favoritism to no man—for those who seemed to be something added nothing to me. Galatians 2:6.”

    I find it interesting that you quoted Matthew 25 to support a claim that the GOP has “Cast into outer darkness those trapped in an endless cycle of poverty and addiction”. It is interesting that the Bible supports no such claim. It does not claim that the Government has the power to cast such persons into outer darkness. That one feat is reserved for our all powerful God at Judgment,. If you want to use the Bible, which I feel is a little ridiculous since I do not believe God was concerned about the Government clothing the naked and feeding the hungry. Matthew 25 is a scene that is taking place at Judgment:

    31 “When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, he will sit on his glorious throne. 32 All the nations will be gathered before him, and he will separate the people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. 33 He will put the sheep on his right and the goats on his left.
    34 “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. 35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

    37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

    40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

    41 “Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. 42 For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, 43 I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.’

    44 “They also will answer, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or needing clothes or sick or in prison, and did not help you?’

    45 “He will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’

    46 “Then they will go away to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life.”)

    I do not think the Government is going to be held accountable in Heaven in connection with the welfare system, but, if you want a counter, so be it, here it is:

    8But if men are bound in chains,
    held fast by cords of affliction,
    9he tells them what they have done—
    that they have sinned arrogantly.
    10He makes them listen to correction
    and commands them to repent of their evil.
    11If they obey and serve him,
    they will spend the rest of their days in prosperity
    and their years in contentment.
    12But if they do not listen,
    they will perish by the sword
    and die without knowledge.

    If we are going to use the Bible, then I have to say that I believe God can overcome all things, even addictions, even drug abuse, even poverty. The Bible commands brothers and sisters in the Lord to take care of their neighbors and countrymen.

    “If one of your countrymen becomes poor and is unable to support himself among you, help him as you would an alien or a temporary resident, so he can continue to live among you. Do not take interest of any kind from him, but fear your God, so that your countrymen may continue to live among you…”
    —Leviticus 25:35-36 (NIV)

    I don’t remember the Bible exhorting Governments to enable their constituents by giving them welfare, in fact, above, I have already established where throughout the Bible, we are exhorted to do better, be better, live better, more abundant lives.

    I believe that we should be a light to others, a help to others and that we should also exhort our brothers and sisters to live righteous lives and be reconciled to the Savior because He truly is the one who can help them overcome their addictions. I am in full support of all things in that passage of Matthew that we are entreated to do. In fact, our church outreach program is called “M25″…wherein we feed the poor, give out school supplies, feed the homeless, etc, etc, But to say that Government has the responsibility under Matthew 25 to continue handing out benefits to the drug addicted? That is a stretch. As a Christian, I should be exhorting people to put away old things, the old man, addiction, and embrace Christ and a new life. Not enabling to continue their habit. Just my opinion and, unfortunately, I am full of them! 🙂

    Andrea

Leave a Reply

