My sister vents….

And I say “AMEN!”  Read on….

 Throughout my life, many people have offered me “kind” words.  Words that they say will only “help” me.  Words that they feel they must get off their chest because they know I will be a better person because of it.  Intently, I listen to these words looking for a precious gem I can take away with me for inspiration and growth.  However, after the majority of these people utter their first sentence, I wonder why I even took the time to open myself and my mind to them.

    You see, I’ve learned that there are people out there who use unsolicited advice as a vehicle for their own agenda.  They use sweet words dripping with honey that only serve to cover up the two-edged sword they are swinging.  These words guised as helpful advice are only used to deliver their passive aggressive message.

    If you disagree with me, fine, disagree with me. This is the beauty of human nature. We can all disagree, yet still flourish and learn together.  However, just because you disagree with me does not give you the right to use demeaning and patronizing language to try and whittle me down to conform to your belief system.

    Next time you offer “kind” words to someone, ask yourself what purpose it is serving.  Will it really be beneficial to them or are you just making yourself feel better or pushing your own agenda? Be real with yourself.  Be purposeful – only genuine expressions that are not solely used for serving your agenda will make a difference in someone else’s life.

**Thanks for reading. I needed a place to vent**

Leave a Reply

